How to Delete an Account from Google Analytics Dashboard

Google Analytics is an excellent free tool by Google that helps you to gain insights about the traffic on your website. You can get details such as actions taken by each user, the duration of the visit of each user, and the pages visited by them. You get both user acquisition and user behavior data on Google Analytics.

But you might want to shift to some other analytics platform, or you abandon a blog altogether. In such a situation, your Google Analytics account is still active, and you might want to delete it. Here are four easy steps to delete your Google Analytics account.

Delete the whole Google Analytics account including all websites

1) Login to Your Google Analytics Account

Once your login to your account on Google Analytics, you will be directed to the home page where you can see a menu on the right side of the screen, including options like customization, realtime, audience, acquisition, behavior, conversions, attribution, discover and admin.

You will be able to the Google Analytics home where the number of users, sessions, bounce rate, and session duration will be visible.

If you can not see the options or just the icons and not the name of the options, try tapping the leftward pointing arrow on the bottom of the menu.

2) Click on the Admin Option

From the menu, select the admin option. It is the last option on the menu. When you click on that, you will be directed to the admin page where there will be two options on the header, admin and user.

By default, you will land on the admin settings page under which there will be three columns with the titles account, property, and view. Under each column header, you will have multiple options such as under the account column header, and you will see account settings, account user management, all filters, change history, and trash can.

Select the desired account to be deleted, if you have multiple, by using the drop-down menu under the account column header. If you only have one account, then by default, that account name will be shown in the drop-down menu.

3) Select Account Settings

From the account column, select the first option named Account settings. You see, your basic settings open up, and the screen will display your account ID and account name along with the country of business and data sharing settings.

See also  How to Add Addon Domain to Hostgator Hosting With cPanel

4) Click ‘Move to Trash Can’

On the top left corner of the primary account settings, you will see the option ‘Move to Trash Can.’ This is present just next to the title Account Settings. Tap that option, and you will be redirected to the page with the heading Move Account to Trash Can.

Then, a page will open up where you’ll be asked whether you are sure you want to delete the account or not.
Select the option ‘Trash Account,’ and your account will be deleted.

The moment you click the option ‘Trash Account,’ a mail will be sent to you by noreply-analytics with the subject ‘Google Analytics account scheduled for deletion.”

It will include the account deleted and by whom.

Now here is the catch, if you change your mind, you can still restore your account! The Trash Can option in Google Analytics is like a recycle bin on laptops and computers. Your deleted accounts, properties, and views are held in the Trash can before they are permanently deleted forever.

You can restore your account within thirty-five days of deletion. After thirty-five days, your account will be permanently deleted.

To delete only a domain from the account and not the whole account.

If instead of deleting your whole account you want to delete a website from your Google Analytics account, follow the above steps till step two and then follow the instructions below:

1) Select Property Settings

Under the column header Property, use the drop-down menu to select the website you want to delete. You will see the following options in the column – Property settings, user management, tracking info, AdWords linking, etc.

Select Property settings, and you will be redirected to a similar page like in Step 3 above. You will see the basic settings such as tracking id and property name.

2) Select ‘Move to Trash Can’

You’ll see the option ‘Move to Trash Can.’ on the top left corner. This option is present just beside the title Property Settings. Select that, and you will be directed to the page where you are asked to confirm the deletion.

3) Select Delete Property

You will immediately receive a mail regarding the deletion. Just like account deletion, when you delete a property, you have a period of thirty-five days to restore the website if you change your mind, but after thirty-five days, it will be permanently deleted.